Chew Restaurant

August 25, 2009 at 8:01 pm Leave a comment

Bacon

Pear & Gorganzola Salad

Strawberry Shortcake

Sorbet Trio

We went to one of our favorite restaurants here in Jax the other night. It is called Chew Restaurant and it is fantastic. It is one of the first dining establishments that I have ever been to that is not a chain restaurant, has chefs willing to experiment and have fun with food, and actually changes the menu up with the seasons.

One of my favorite dishes to get is Skirt Steak Au Poivre. It is made with seared peppercorns and a brandy-pepercorn demi-glace, and served with herbs shoestring potatoes,
garlic aioli.  The dish just makes your mouth water. Everyone at the table with me had wonderful dishes but everyone of them salivated over my steak. I ended up having to give up quite a few bites for everyone to taste. My six month old son even got in on the great food. Our waiter was nice enough to get him some of their fabulous herb grits and he ate every bit of them.

One of the other best dishes of the night was their appetizer Bacon. Here is the menu excerpt for bacon:

Fresh Bacon
braised pork belly, smoked leeks, roasted mushrooms,
sage grits, honey gastrique

Now going back to where I mentioned that the chefs like to play with their food.  My sister and some friends visited Chew on a previous night. They were the last customers of the evening and just hanging around enjoying dessert. Towards the end of their meal one of the chefs came out to their table and told them they had to try something for him. He made caramel popcorn shots. He went into some long technical speal on how he made them but my sister said they tasted awesome and just like caremel popcorn. I wish I had been there for that one.

To round out our evening my sister had green tea cheesecake, her husband had strawberry shortcake and my husband had trio of sorbet. The trio was watermelon, canteloupe and honey dew.

I can’t wait to go back and have my steak again.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Yummy Ham & Swiss Sandwiches Grilled Cheese and Fresh Cherries

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed