Yoder’s Peanut Butter Cream Pie

November 22, 2009 at 5:44 pm 5 comments

The Custard

Peanut Butter Crumb On Top of Custard

Yoder's Peanut Butter Cream Pie

I was watching Man v. Food on the Travel Channel one night and he was visiting Sarasota, Florida. This peeked my interest because I live in Florida and I like to see places that I could potentially visit. On this particular episode the host visited an Amish restaurant named Yoder’s, which is named after the owners. If you want to see the full episode click on this link. www.yodersrestaurant.com.  Everything on the menu is made from scratch including their pies. Apparently, the most popular pie is their Peanut Butter Pie. The way they make it is so different to what I have seen before.  I Googled the recipe and I think I found one that matches pretty well.  Click the title of the recipe below and it will take you to the blog that I found the recipe at.

I made the pie and overall it is a very easy recipe. I happened to have all the ingredients on hand except the cool whip. I will say it can be very messy to make the pie but in a good way. :)

 

*Update- Served the pie and it was a big success. People went back for seconds and thirds.  Make sure to keep it very chilled, the pudding will break down very quickly otherwise.

 

Yoder’s Peanut Butter Cream Pie

Pudding Mixture:

1-cup cold milk
½ cup cornstarch
1-teaspoon salt
1-teaspoon vanilla
3 egg yolks
3 cups milk
3 tablespoons butter
2/3-cup sugar
Mix cornstarch, salt, 1 cup milk, eggs yolks and vanilla with a wire whisk until smooth. Set mixture aside.
Heat 3 cups milk, butter and sugar till scalding, stirring constantly. Add cornstarch mixture to hot milk while stirring with a whisk. Cook till thickened. Remove from heat before boiling. CHILL.

Crumb Mixture:

1 cup powdered sugar
½ cup crunchy peanut butter
Baked 9-10-inch deep pie shell
2 cups whipped topping (sweetened)

Mix powdered sugar and peanut butter till small crumbs form (with mixer).
Place ½ crumbs into pie shell. Spoon chilled pudding on top of crumbs. Place remaining crumbs on top of pudding, reserving a little to sprinkle on top. Top with whipped topping.
Enjoy! Serves 6 at Yoder’s (or 12 small pieces)

Entry filed under: Dessert, Uncategorized. Tags: , , , .

Chipotle Lime Marinated Chicken Garlic Herbed Scalloped Potatoes

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. jenn  |  November 24, 2011 at 3:54 am

    Saw this same episode and thought it sounded so yummy. I followed this recipe tonight and am excited to see what everyone thinks of it at thanksgiving dinner tomorrow! Thanks!

    Reply
  • 2. Phyllis  |  April 18, 2012 at 12:39 am

    I make this pie and have for years. I put an egg merenge on top though. My husband is a truck driver and got the recipe from a cook at truck stop he stopped at in Kentucky.

    Reply
  • 3. Rosemerry  |  July 7, 2012 at 4:19 pm

    I’ve been to Yoder’s and had their peanut butter pie! It is really good. Can’t wait to try this recipe – thanks for sharing!

    Reply
  • 4. Gunilla  |  July 21, 2012 at 8:31 pm

    I was at Yoder’s last October, several times, and every time I had this lovely pie for desert. Now I would like to make it for my family back in Sweden (where I live). BUT, as far as I understand, everything at Yoder´s is made from scratch, including the pie crust. Does anyone have the recipe for the crust as well?

    Reply
  • 5. Lori  |  November 22, 2012 at 4:54 pm

    This has become my kids fave pie. I Love it too! I use Extra Creamy cool whip for the top of mine, with just about 1/8 of a tsp of vanilla added to it for flavor.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Twitter Updates

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

