Grilled Cheese and Fresh Cherries

September 2, 2009 at 1:13 pm Leave a comment

Photo and Recipe Courtesy of Everyday with Rachael Ray via Design Crush

Photo and Recipe Courtesy of Everyday with Rachael Ray via Design Crush

I found this recipe via a blog called Design Crush. Her blog is an amazing visual array of food, quotes, fashion and pictures. Anyway, she featured this recipe of Grilled Cheese and Fresh Cherries, which was originally featured on Every Day with Rachael Ray.

This recipe appeals to me so much because when I was in college there was a breakfast place called Another Broken Egg in Tallahassee, FL. They had the best appetizer of baked brie and a Grand Marnier apple compote.  It was so delicious that when I graduated and moved back home I craved it. I craved it to the point that I went to the store and purchased me some Grand Marnier, a loaf of french bread, a wheel of brie, some granny smith apples, raisins, maple syrup, butter, and some sugar. Then I stood in front of my stove until I got a sauce that I deemed a worthy replication to my favorite baked brie from Another Broken Egg. Just talking about it I think I am going to have to make it again sometime soon.

When I do make it I will post my recipe, but for now enjoy this recipe of Grilled Cheese with Fresh Cherries.

Recipe Courtesy of Everyday with Rachael Ray:

  • 2 cups cherries, pitted
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons sugar
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1 teaspoon fresh thyme leaves
  • 1 baguette, thinly sliced
  • Two 5-inch wheels camembert cheese, at room temperature
  • Extra-virgin olive oil, for brushing
  1. Preheat a grill to low. In a food processor, coarsely chop the cherries, sugar and salt; stir in the thyme.
  2. Brush the bread slices and cheese wheels on both sides with olive oil. Place the cheese in the center of the grill and surround with the bread. Cover and grill until the bread is golden on the bottom, about 2 minutes. Flip the bread slices and grill until golden on the other side, about 2 minutes more. Continue to grill the cheese, covered, until the rind is soft, about 5 minutes more. Using a metal spatula, invert each cheese wheel onto a plate.
  3. Spoon the cherry jam over the cheese and serve with the bread.
Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Chew Restaurant Goat Cheese Salad with Lemon Vinaigarette

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Twitter Updates

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.


