Homemade Scalloped Potatoes:AKA: Heaven on a Plate!

September 30, 2009 at 2:01 am Leave a comment

I will never make scalloped potatoes from a box again. No more, never ever! I made the best tasting potatoes tonight. Quite simply, I am in love! They were so good they made my rather shitty day all better. It doesn’t help that I also had really, really good Chipotle Lime Marinated Grilled Chicken to go along with those delicious potatoes. More on the chicken in another post.

I decided to make the potatoes because I had leftover sliced potatoes from a Potato Torte I made the other night, which also was quite delicious. It was very simple.

I took my gratin dish and laid out the first layer of potatoes and then I salt and peppered them. I sprinkled a small layer of Kraft Mexican Blend cheese because that was what I had in  my fridge. I then did another layer of potatoes and repeated the process. Continue to do this until you either run out of room in your dish or you run out of potatoes.

While you are making the layers simmer a half a pint of cream or 1 cup of cream on the stove that has been salt and peppered. Once it has simmered for a few minutes poor it evenly across your potatoes and let it soak in. Then cover the whole dish with as much cheese as you would like.

Pop the dish into a preheated 350 degree oven and bake for about 40 minutes. Then check it. If it has turned golden brown, cover with foil and bake for an additional 15 minutes. Then you will have yummy, yummy scalloped potatoes.

Entry filed under: Side Dish. Tags: , , .

What To Do With Cherry Tomatoes From Our Topsy Turvy Garden? Chipotle Lime Marinated Chicken

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Twitter Updates

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.


